To: GENERATION X

The following post is a rather menial struggle of a millennial.

Having graduated from university for merely over a year, a fond memory I intend to share in this post now seems like a distant incident. Just before our last reading week, we were handed an unusual article in our political economy seminar (a module I personally despised, and am feeling nauseous as I recall currently). The paper stated in black bold letters, “The Precariat – The New Dangerous Class” by Guy Standing, which of course grasped my ADD self (Take a read folks, if you haven’t already). I remember chuckling for hours, since I’d immediately envisioned myself as an active member, a young woman suffering from job insecurity. Perhaps one could deem this strange assumption as gut feeling? I do not know. However, I was well aware of the struggles outside my air-conditioned cozy classroom . I mean “The Precariat” became a prominent aspect of my identity, which I repeatedly used to describe myself on all social media profiles. Need I say more? Please do not ask me why being a ‘Precariat’ was hilarious at the time. Right now,  I am far from laughing tears of joy. A year later, I’m sat in my precious pink onesie cuddled up on my parent’s couch exactly how memory had served me a long while back; unemployed.

Are you wondering as to why am I struck by the wrath of unemployment?

Truth be told, I have not figured out an impressive story to back my current situation yet. Nevertheless, what I do know is that I am mortified by the excessive name calling I’ve had to encounter.

Generation X, I am convinced believes that our parent’s hard work over the past decades has led to our “failures”. Rumour has it that I’ve been born with a silver…nah…gold spoon in my mouth (sounds better), and am therefore alien to hard-work. I’m certain that you are all familiar with the constant negative stereotypes of our kind. If not, lazy, delusional, materialistic and so forth are just some “oh so amazing” flattering words among a list that is longer than my arm. Congratulations for getting it all wrong Generation X!

The lord solely knows the number of ungodly all-nighters I’ve slaved whilst working on a menial salary for what I would identify as a full-time job, after I graduated. A university degree on its own does not cut it for me in the professional arena of being, unless it is coupled with key references, significant unpaid internships and consequently, a vast skilled work background. But Hallelujah…dare I propose a reality check? How many of us today are fortunate enough to attain all three ticks to secure a decent job post bachelor’s? The competition out there is surreal! Jobs for graduates like myself are available in abundance or so, many argue. No doubt lads! But do they suit my qualifications or better yet, can they fulfill what I wish to achieve? Offer a decent pay wherein I can pursue a respectable lifestyle? Plenty of questions, yet the answer unfortunately is a big fat NO to many, if not all of them.

So while I phase through this challenging period of unemployment whilst accused of being a lazy spoilt brat living off on my parent’s hard earned dirham’s. I want you to realize that there are those who fall in your stereotypical category Gen X. Nevertheless many of us like myself…I defend…fall way far out of it. We are a generation that is extremely devoted, and equipped with a lot of potential, so please do not pigeonhole an entire generation on poorly formed stereotypes.

There is a considerable amount to the equation of youth unemployment, which will be discussed in our future posts but till then, please take a while to reflect on your attitude as you bash an entire generation that comprises our reality’s present, and future.

Love,

Generation Y

Leave a Reply

